What happened in hotel cecil?

Originally opened as a middle-class hotel on December 20, 1924,[1] in Downtown Los Angeles, it eventually became a budget hotel, hostel, and rooming house. Its reputation is due to at least 16 sudden or unexplained deaths that have occurred in or around the hotel.