Why is a dutch oven called a dutch oven?

The Dutch initially started producing their cast cooking vessels in the 17th century, creating a range of pots, pans and casserole dishes. ... Darby eventually in 1707 patented a casting procedure and named it the “Dutch oven”, thus explaining where the Dutch name originated for this cooking pot.

---

Because the covered pot to cook in actually came from the Netherlands, where the method of making them in cast iron was refined.