Can i substitute teriyaki sauce for soy sauce?

Teriyaki sauce is not a good replacement for soy sauce unless you're preparing a recipe that includes ginger and sugar or honey. Otherwise, teriyaki sauce is too sweet and thick to replace soy sauce without affecting the taste of the recipe significantly.