How do you use a shoe horn?

A shoe horn of curved plastic/metal, is placed flat at the back of a shoe, extending straight upward. This allows a person to more easily slip their foot into the shoe, by sliding their heel down the shoe horn, without catching the back of the shoe under their heel. You then pull the shoe horn out.