Is the hunchback of notre dame based on a true story?

Yes, Scholars believe Victor Hugo’s character, Hunchback of Notre Dame was based on a French sculptor hired to work on the restoration whom Hugo may have encountered on his visits to the cathedral. The deformed sculptor, Mon Trajan, referred to by others as Mon le Bossu translates to “hunchback”