What is the longest opera?

The longest of commonly performed opera is Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg by (Wilhelm) Richard Wagner (1813–83) of Germany. A normal uncut version as performed by the Sadler's Wells company between 24 August and 19 September 1968 entailed 5 hr 15 min of music.