Who is the first sergeant major of the army?

William O. Wooldridge, born August 12, 1922 and died March 5, 2012, was a United States Army soldier and the first Sergeant Major of the Army. He served on active duty from 1940 to 1972 and his military career covered two wars and 14 campaigns. He was twice decorated for gallantry in action.