When was home record formed?

The phonograph was invented in 1877 by Thomas Edison.Alexander Graham Bell's Volta Laboratory made several improvements in the 1880s & introduced the graphophone,including the use of wax-coated cardboard cylinders and a cutting stylus that moved from side to side in a zigzag groove around the record