What's the h. q. i.?

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. HQI stands for hydrargyrum quartz iodide. HQI lamp consists of a protective outer glass shield surrounding two heavy wires which are inserted into each end of a smaller inner bulb containing a gas.