How long do you broil a new york strip steak?

Place the roasting pan in broiler, positioned so steaks are 1-1½" from the heating element. Broil 3 minutes, then turn steaks over and broil another 3 minutes. Continue flipping the steaks every 3 minutes until center registers 125-130°F (for medium-rare), 6-16 minutes.