Who were the butter box babies?

The Ideal Maternity Home is infamous for the Butterbox Babies. The home was the source of babies for an illegal trade in infants between Canada and the US in the 1920s-40s. Unmarketable babies were starved and buried in grocery boxes. Butterbox Babies is used to refer to these unfortunate infants.