What is alcohol from cane sugar?

A lot of alcoholic beverages are coming on to the market using “cold-brewed sugar” or “fermented cane sugar” as their alcohol base. ... Sugar-brew is frequently compared to “malt base,” which is fermented barley or grain that has been steeped, germinated, and dried.