How many gallons is the ocean?

NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center estimates that 321,003,271 cubic miles is in the ocean. That's enough water to fill about 352,670,000,000,000,000,000 gallon-sized milk containers!

---

Recent estimates put the volume of the Earth's oceans at 1.332 cubic kilometers. This is equivalent to around , or 352 quintillion, gallons of water. As a note, this estimate was made using satellite data to obtain sea surface area, and an average ocean depth of 3.682 km.