Are red pepper flakes hot?

They can be. Red pepper flakes are made from a mixture of several different kinds of chile peppers with cayenne pepper being the most common. Red pepper seeds are also used. Each manufacturer has a different recipe of red peppers and red pepper seeds to achieve flavor and, sometimes, serious heat