What is a hack?

In 21st Century slang, a hack is a shortcut or simpler way to accomplish a task, i.e. a life hack. In technology, a hack can refer to a security breach of private data or software. Finally, in art, a ”hack” is someone who doesn’t show a lot of creativity, instead he/she reuses the ideas of others.