Why are dogs so scared of fireworks?

Many dogs are afraid of loud noises like fireworks because they have incredibly sensitive ears that can easily pick up sounds that humans could never perceive. Just like humans, they are also startled by unexpected and unexplained things, and they probably don't understand what fireworks are.