Where do metamorphic rocks come from?

Metamorphic rocks form when rocks are subjected to high heat, high pressure, hot mineral-rich fluids or, more commonly, some combination of these factors. Metamorphic rocks started out as some other type of rock, but have changed from their original igneous, sedimentary, or earlier metamorphic form.