Can you grow avocados in alabama?

From hunker.com. Alabama hardiness zones range from 7 to 8, which can be a little too cold for most avocados. If you live in Alabama within USDA plant hardiness zone 8, you can grow Mexican avocados that are hardy down to 19 degrees Fahrenheit; however, you must provide the avocado some protection