How is almond extract made?

Pure almond extract is made from three primary ingredients: alcohol, water, and bitter almond oil. The last is extracted from almonds or (more frequently) their kin, drupes, the term for stone fruits. The almond flavor comes from benzaldehyde, a substance in the kernels of drupes.