What is the difference between a wasp and hornet?

A hornet is a type of wasp but is larger and more robust than paper wasps and yellow jackets. Unlike honey bees which can only sting once because their stingers are barbed and pull out of their body, wasps and hornets have a barbless stinger and can sting multiple times.