Can dogs get down syndrome?

Because Down syndrome is categorized by having 47 chromosomes, it can’t be diagnosed in dogs who, by default, have 78 chromosomes. That being said, dogs can experience genetic abnormalities that may manifest in symptoms and physical characteristics that resemble Down syndrome in humans.