Who was the first person to discover fire?

Our animal ancestors as far back as reptiles would have been aware of the dangers of fire, and thus discovered it. A better question is, when did mankind first start to *use* fire. Anthropologists believe homo erectus started using fire for warmth first, about one million years ago.