What was the purpose of daylight savings time?

Daylight savings time is a seasonal time change where clocks are set ahead of standard time during part of the year, usually by one hour. As DST starts, the Sun rises and sets later, on the clock, than the day before. It is used to make better use of daylight and to conserve energy.