What is the reiwa era?

He was the first Japanese emperor, to abdicate in over two centuries. Normally successions only take place, after the death of an emperor. Each emperor's reign, is given a name known as a 'gengo'. The name of the new era is, a combination of the two characters, Rei and Wa.