What are the four stages of sleep?

The four stages of sleep are NREM-1, NREM-2, NREM-3, and REM. During sleep, a person usually progresses through the 3 stages of non-REM sleep before entering REM sleep. This takes about 1 to 2 hours after falling asleep. The cycle is repeated three to four times each night.