Are peanuts kosher for passover?

The Torah prohibits eating chometz, or five specific grains during Passover: wheat, spelt, barley, oats, and rye. There is a second class of foods, called kitenyot which includes corn, rice, peas, lentils, and peanuts, which many do not eat during Passover.