Is box a word?

Yes, "box" is a valid English word. A box is a container with a flat base and sides, typically square or rectangular and having a lid. To box means to fight an opponent using one's fists; to compete in the sport of boxing.

---

Yes, it’s a container for holding things. They are usually square or rectangular. Or the verb box comes from the sport of boxing.