How do you get out in cricket?

The many "modes of dismissal" in cricket include the bowler dislodging the bails; the bowler or fielder catching the ball without it hitting the ground; the batter hitting the ball twice, dislodging a wicket, or obstructing a fielder; and too many other causes to list here.