What is mail made out of?

Present-day chain mail is made from stainless steel or titanium with wire diameter of some 0.5 mm and ring diameter of some 5 mm. Modern uses of welded chain mail are for gloves and aprons in abattoirs, and as protection to diving suits for those lowered in cages among sharks.