How do you get rid of paint?

Latex or water based paint can be recycled at a household hazardous waste facility. If the container has an inch or less in it, it may be left open to dry out and then disposed of as trash. Oil based paint is considered a hazardous waste and must be disposed of at a hazardous waste facility.