How long does a bottle of wine last once it's open?

A bottle of wine lasts for 3–5 days in a cool dark place with a cork The more tannin and acidity the red wine has, the longer it tends to last after opening. So, a light red with very little tannin, such as Pinot Noir, won't last open as long as a rich red like Petite Sirah.