Why do donkeys have a cross on their back?

Almost all donkeys have a cross on their back; they have a dorsal (back) stripe running down from the poll (between the ears) to the tip of their tail. The "cross" is a perpendicular line through the dorsal stripe across the highest part of a Donkey's back and down over the shoulders.