Did carol lombard die in a car accident?

No, On January 16, 1942, the actress Carole Lombard, famous for her marriage to the actor Clark Gable, was killed when the TWA DC-3 plane she is traveling in crashed en route from Las Vegas to Los Angeles. She was 33.