How popular is pizza?

Approximately 3 billion pizzas are sold in the U.S. each year. According to a recent Gallup Poll, kids between the ages of 3 to 11 prefer pizza over all other food groups. Pepperoni is America's favorite (36 percent of all pizza orders); we eat approximately 251,770,000 pounds per year.