How did the honey badger get it's name?

Honey badgers will eat insects, reptiles, birds, eggs fruits and roots but favour honey and are built for raiding beehives. Stings don't penetrate their skin and they have an anal pouch that can be turned inside out, emitting a suffocating smell believed to calm bees as they raid the hives.