What is the lifespan of a microwave oven?

The average microwave oven lasts about 7 years with normal use, and less with heavy use and poor maintenance. A large family may find themselves replacing their appliance every 4 to 5 years as they become more reliant on it For snacks and leftovers heating, or to defrost meals.