What is the toughest gemstone?

Don't know what exactly you mean by toughest, but diamond is the hardest gemstone, and therefore can take some pretty rough abuse. Cubic Zirconia is almost as hard. Next are Ruby and Sapphire. Look up the MoHS scale for more info.