Is the nightmare before christmas a christmas or halloween movie?

According to the film's director, Henry Selick, The Nightmare Before Christmas is a Halloween movie. However, fans continue to debate its genre.

---

The Nightmare Before Christmas can be either enjoyed as a Halloween or Christmas movie or both