Why is thing a hand?

The addamsss called it “thing” because it was something that could not be identified. It is know as “cosa” (thing in Spain) “dedos” (fingers) in Hispanic America,”Mano” (hand in Italy), “la chose” (the thing) in French speaking countries and “eidkaltes händchen”(icecold hand) in German