Why are pig tails called pig tails?

The term pigtail has been used since early 1600s. During the curing process, tobacco leaves would be twisted together. They resembled the curly tail of a pig, so were called pigtails. Eventually, pigtail was used to describe hair braids that resembled the twisted tobacco leaves. Per Wonderopolis.org