When was bacon discovered?

Bacon’s history dates back thousands of years to 1500 BC when the Chinese cured pork bellies with salt. It may go further back; pigs were domesticated in China in 4900 BC. Speculation exists that the Romans and Greeks learned bacon production and curing through conquests in the Middle East