Why do baseball players spit?

Spitting is as old as baseball. Back in the 1800s, chewing tobacco was common practice on and off the field. Players used it to stimulate their saliva on the dusty field and then use the spit to moisten their gloves.

---

A tradition of baseball players spitting Using chewing tobacco was a common practice as far back as the 1800s — both on and off the field. Players used the chew to stimulate their saliva on the dusty field, then when they spit it out they’d use the spit to moisten their gloves.