How many slices in a loaf of bread?

The number is determined by the size of the loaf and the size of the individual slices. However, the industry standard is around 18 slices in a sandwich loaf. This will vary from one bakery to the other with an average of 16 to 20 slices. Take note that this includes the two heels or end slices.