What is a cheese toasty?

Some British foods ooze comfort at the mere mention of their name, and none more so than the cheese toastie or "the U.S grilled cheese sandwich". Ingredients: 4 slices bread (good quality), 1 tablespoon salted butter, 2 ounces Cheddar cheese, Salt (to taste), Little freshly ground black pepper.