What is kosher salt?

Kosher salt is mainly sodium chloride, the same as regular salt, except the flakes are coarse. Kosher salt is also less likely to contain additives like iodine. The salt itself is not manufactured under religious guidelines, but its name refers to its use in the Jewish practice of dry-brining meats.