How long does it take for a pearl to grow?

Cultured pearls take from 6 mos to 7 yrs to form. Japanese Akoya ‘Pinctada fucata’ cultured pearls & Tahitian pearls ‘Pinctada margaritifera’ take up to 24 mos to grow. South Sea cultured pearls take up to 30 months. Some Chinese fresh water cultured pearls grow for up to 7 years.