What is the vegetable ramps?

According to Lucas Peterson from eater.com, ramps look like scallions, but they're smaller and slightly more delicate, and have one or two flat, broad leaves. They taste stronger than a leek, which generally has a mild onion flavor, and are more pungently garlicky than a scallion.