What did tik tok used to be called?

Douyin was launched by ByteDance in China in September 2016. TikTok was launched in the international market in September 2017. TikTok merged with musical.ly on 2 August 2018 to create a larger video community, with existing accounts consolidated into one app, keeping the title TikTok.