What is a supersonic jet?

A supersonic jet is one that is capable of flying faster than the speed of sound, oftern referred to as Mach 1.

---

The prefix "super-" means over, above, or in addition to. Sonic refers to sound. So a supersonic jet is one that goes over the speed of sound, which is 343 meters per second. This is also called Mach 1.