How was alcohol invented?

It was probably discovered rather than invented. Wild yeast in a flooded beehive would ferment to mead and be an interesting discovery for early hunter-gatherers. Rotten fruit might provide a similar experience. The runoff from a sodden and forgotten basket of grain is another possibility.